Do we ever truly disconnect?

20130804-105940.jpg

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Have you ever stopped to think whether you are ever truly disconnected?

Many of us are never disconnected for longer than a few hours thanks to our smartphones and other mobile devices. In addition to text messages and calls, we also receive emails, and real time notifications from our social media accounts and apps.

If we have a spare few minutes, many of us will use that time to check our phone for updates. In that sense, we are still connected wherever we go – with a few exceptions of course: for example, it’s a little difficult to stay connected during your morning swim. However, this period of disconnectedness is often for a limited time.

How about you – do you ever take the time to purposefully disconnect?

How about when you go on holiday – do you disconnect from everything? perhaps just social media and email? or do you stay fully connected the whole time?

How do you think always being connected makes you feel on a daily basis? Does it provide comfort and positive feelings of being connected to others or do you feel it provides a distraction from other things in life or interrupts your relaxation time?

What do you think drives people to stay connected? Is it…

  • social pressure – a feeling that it’s expected?
  • the desire to be involved and a fear of missing out?’
  • a necessity for work?
  • a source of enjoyment?
  • a habit?
  • an addiction?

I look forward to connecting with you and hearing your thoughts…

7 responses to “Do we ever truly disconnect?

  1. I think that performing different “online” behaviors may have different reasons. For example, I check my work email to make sure that I am up to date on what needs to be done for tomorrow and future days. I check personal email to see if there’s anything fun there such as an email from a friend. I check my blog email address to quickly post comments. So maybe for me all of it is “staying on top of what I feel needs to be done” even with personal email (i.e., emailing back friends quickly so that they will continue to email me).

  2. I take off 2 days at least once a quarter. No phone, no internet, no television, no radio, and no talking. It’s a magical experience that resets and refreshes me.

    I’d like to do it once a month, but can’t seem to make it a priority. My goal is every other month, which suits my hubby just fine. He hates it when I’m quiet. 🙂

  3. Now there is a thought..

    We never really disconnect do we? Even when we sleep we are still connected..still thinking… still deciding what to do tommorrow.. the next day.. The only way to truly turn off is in my humble opinion a brain transplant lol

  4. I don’t think I’m ever truly disconnected, but now I’m seeing a need for it. I always have my phone by my side, and I work several hours a day on my laptop, working on my website, checking emails etc. I think it would be nice to take a secluded vacation, with no technology, and no talking. That would be glorious, although I wouldn’t want to do it more than a few days. 🙂

  5. Perhaps it is a product of my age, but I feel really strongly that all my devices are there for my convenience. So while I will admit to wasting time on social media regularly, I also often totally disconnect. I have for years, even to the point of not answering my phone if I am eating, or visiting, or even just enjoying a good book and don;’t want the disruption. It is very rare that I have disconnected for a longer period, like a few days, and come back to find I have missed something totally vital!

  6. I think that too many peopel feel that their life would end if they don’t check their phone or email every few seconds. I have just recently turned off the notification sound on my emails and find that I am able to concentrate on what I am doing much better. Before, everytime the email pinged I just had to take a look!!!

Leave a Reply

